skip to Main Content

5 Indians Who Won The Prestigious Oscar Awards

After the 93rd Academy Awards have recently declared the nomination list, here is a list of 5 Indians who have won Oscars.

1. Best Costume Design Oscar – Bhanu Athaiya

Bhanu Athaiya who is a famous outfit designer won first Oscar for India for the 1982 drama “Gandhi”. Having made contributions to more than 100 films, the costumier worked for certain prominent characters like Guru Dutt, Yash Chopra, Raj Kapoor, B.R. Chopra, Vijay Anand, Raj Khosla, Ashutosh Gowariker among many others. She additionally worked with International characters like Conrad Rooks and Richard Attenborough.

2. Life Time Achievement Award – Satyajit Ray

Progressive filmmaker Satyajit Ray gave Indian film industry a few show-stoppers that actually are utilized for contextual analyses in different filmmaking establishments. The incredible filmmaker made waves in both Indian and Bengali film world. His first film Pather Panchali won numerous Indian and worldwide awards including the Best Human Document at the Cannes film celebration in 1955. In 1992, the Academy awarded Satyajit Ray an Honorary Oscar Award 1992 for Lifetime Achievement. Lamentably, the veteran director couldn’t make it to the occasion as he was hospitalized and gave his acknowledgment discourse by means of live feed.

3. Best Sound Mixing – Resul Pookutty

The accomplishment of Slumdog Millionaire made worldwide acknowledgment for Indian ability abroad. While the film won the Academy Award for Best Pictures, sound architect Resul Pookutty made India pleased by winning the award of Best Sound Mixing at the 81st Academy Awards. He won the award alongside Ian Tapp and Richard Pryke. “I devote this award to my country. This isn’t only a sound award rather a piece of history that has been given over to me. I come from a country and civilisation that gave the world the word that goes before quietness and is trailed by more quiet. That word is Om. So I
would like to devote this award to my country,” said he after receiving the award.

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top